Trouble for the Ivory Tower

Some of my fellow grad students are getting tired of me alluding to articles about the challenges and problems of higher education as it is currently practiced, so I thought I’d put up some links to articles I found recently on the subject.  See the following:

New York Review of Books reviews 4 recent books on what’s wrong with American colleges

A blog post about over-stressed students and aimless curriculum

A cool piece from the Chronicle of Higher Ed about a professor’s attempt to promote cultural literacy in his students.

Finally, a piece from the Atlantic in the vein of “the growth in higher education is an economic bubble that will and should burst soon”, which is a larger genre than many of my comrades in higher education seem to realize.

About Jake Wobig

I teach international relations and comparative politics at Wingate University in Wingate, North Carolina
This entry was posted in Academia and the Profession. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Trouble for the Ivory Tower

  1. Amanda B says:

    Regarding the blog post, I ask my students what other poli-sci classes they’ve taken or are taking and try to fit my subject area in to knowledge they already have – or explain how to situate it in the broader discipline. I also look for ways to suggest career paths (this is easier in my policy classes) or encourage graduate or professional school to those who show an aptitude. I’ve had many former students use me as a reference for policy jobs, internships or further education and refer back to things they learned in my class that helped along the way.

    This isn’t to say that I’m awesome, but just that it is possible to not have a haphazard college experience – at least our individual contributions to that end. As for sexuality and gendered emotional health, it seems like student life folks need to be reading this stuff – how are we supposed to deal with this as faculty?

Leave a Reply

