What Are You Reading?

Upcoming conferences, comps and a thesis have unfortunately kept me from doing much with the blog as of late (the looks on fellow grad students’ faces lead me to believe the same is true for nearly everyone else). This has meant a precipitous decline in my knowledge of the outside world. Thus I have little to post right now.

However, in the interest of posting anything, I figured I would ask fellow graduate students what they are reading (or at least wish they were reading). Below is my (wish) list of reading materials.. feel free to add your own.

This entry was posted in Miscellaneous. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What Are You Reading?

  1. 1. Dirk Gently’s Holistic Detective Agency – Douglas Adams. Obviously not pertinent to graduate studies, but I really, really wish I had time to read some Douglas Adams right now. Hopefully comps have the words “Don’t Panic” written in large, friendly letters on the cover.

    2. Salsa Dancing into the Social Sciences – This one comes highly recommended by a Mr. Wobig. It’s been sitting in my Amazon cart for about two months now.

  2. Tina Mueller Zappile says:

    “Termites in the Trading System” by Bhagwati and “Authoring a PhD” by Patrick Dunleavy (a LSE professor). The rep from Palgrave Macmillan told me at the ISA conference that the Dunleavy book is their best selling title in political science. Its’ extremely useful, regardless of what stage of the program you are in.

  3. Jake Wobig says:

    Yes, Salsa Dancing into the Social Sciences. Essentially resolved my existential crisis with political science research. I still have the library’s copy, but I’m probably going to order my own soon.

    Also, I want to read Charles Tilly’s book “Why” which is apparently about the disconnect between academic social science research and society at large. I’m currently (slowly) making my way through Samantha Power’s biography of Sergio de Mello, called “Chasing the Flame.” Very cool read.

    I’m going to put the Dunleavy book in my Amazon wishlist. Thanks Tina!

Leave a Reply

